You are here

Advisory Committee

The BIMR Director receives advice as to scientific direction and problem resolution from a Director’s Advisory Committee which meets once or twice a year. It is constituted by major BIMR users and BIMR facility directors, and its membership is intended to change on an approximate 3 year cycle. At present the Director’s Advisory Committee is made up of:

Gianluigi Botton
Scientific Director of CCEM, McMaster University

Professor Botton is in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at McMaster.  He received his B. Eng Physics, 1987, his Ph. D. in Materials Engineering, 1992 from Ecole Polytechnique, Montreal.  He is Canada Research Chair in Microscopy of Nanoscale Materials and his research activities include: Microscopy of nanostractured materials; transmission electron microscopy; electron energy-loss spectroscopy and Structure-properties in nanoscale materials.

Michael Brook

Professor Brook is in the Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology at McMaster University.  He received his BSc from University of Toronto in 1978, his PhD from McGill in 1983, and he spent time at ETH Zurich as a postdoctoral fellow.  A former Killam Fellow, Mike’s research interests centre on the chemistry of silicone elastimers, hydrogels, and surfactants, and synthetic strategies to create high molecular weight silicones with explicit structural control.

Graeme Luke
Director of Cryogenic Facilities, McMaster University

Professor Luke is in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at McMaster.  He received his PhD from the University of British Columbia in 1988.  He was a post-doctoral fellow at Columbia University from 1988-91 and a faculty member there from 1991 to 1998.  He moved to McMaster in 1998, where his research interests are in the area of highly correlated electron systems, with an emphasis on superconductivity and magnetism.  He is presently a Senior Fellow in the Quantum Materials Program of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research.

Peter Mascher
Director of McMaster Intense Positron Beam Facility (MIPBF), McMaster University

Professor Mascher is in the Department of Engineering Physics at McMaster.  He obtained a PhD in Engineering Physics in 1984 from the Graz University of Technology in Austria and spent about four years as a post-doctoral fellow and research associate at the University of Winnipeg. He joined McMaster University in 1989 and holds the William Sinclair Chair in Optoelectronics, and serves as Associate Dean (Research) of Engineering.  Since 2010, he has led the MIPBF positron initiative, currently under construction at the McMaster Nuclear Reactor.

Yurij Mozharivskyj

Professor Mozharivskyj is in the Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology at McMaster University, where he holds a Tier II Canada  Research Chair in Solid State Chemistry of Responsive Materials.  Professor Mozharivskyj received his Ph.D. from Iowa State University in 2002. In 2010 he was awarded Margaret C. Etter Early Career Award from the American Crystallographic Association.  Currently his research takes him in two directions: magnetocaloric phases (materials for magnetic refrigeration) and thermoelectric phases of new materials.

Mary Anne White
Past-Director, Institute for Research Materials, Dalhousie University

Professor White is Killam Research Professor in Materials Science, and also Professor of Chemistry and Physics, at Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.  Mary Anne received her BSc. from the University of Western Ontario in 1975, and her PhD from McMaster University in 1980, working with Prof. J.A. Morrison, founding Director of the BIMR.  She has been a faculty member at Dalhousie since 1983, where her research interests are focused on the thermal properties of materials.